My daughter, the real Inday Hami, is very pida (picky with food) but she does like shrimps and vegetable broth. Being a working mom, I don’t have plenty of time. That’s why I’ve trained my house-angel Ging-ging to do the cooking when I get pretty busy. Her laswa recipes are very good and so is her lutik nga kalabasa.

One quick and easy recipe that I would cook for my Inday Hami is what I’ve decided to name patola sauté.

PATOLA SAUTE

2 pieces of patola ( about 6 in. per piece)

5-10 pcs. of small fresh shrimps or a small pack of hibi or dried shrimps (with no shrimps available, you can use a Knorr cube- shrimp or chicken flavor)

1-2 pcs. of garlic

1 medium-sized onion

How to:

  1. Peel the patola and cut into 2 cm. discs

  2. Crush the garlic; slice the onion

  3. Heat 1-2 tbsp. of oil in a pan

  4. Saute the garlic; add the onions, then the shrimps

  5. Add about ¾ cup-1 cup of water. Simmer to bring out flavor of shrimps

  6. Add salt and pepper to taste

  7. Put in the sliced patola . Mix, simmer quickly and serve.

Tip: Cook them al dente. While they’re bright green, turn off the heat. Overcooking will shrink and leave them mushy.

Variation: Add carrot slices for color and additional nutrients. (I blanch my carrots first so they don’t have to cook too long in the broth)

 

Leave a Reply

My daughter, the real Inday Hami, is very pida (picky with food) but she does like shrimps and vegetable broth. Being a working mom, I don’t have plenty of time. That’s why I’ve trained my house-angel Ging-ging to do the cooking when I get pretty busy. Her laswa recipes are very good and so is her lutik nga kalabasa.

One quick and easy recipe that I would cook for my Inday Hami is what I’ve decided to name patola sauté.

PATOLA SAUTE

2 pieces of patola ( about 6 in. per piece)

5-10 pcs. of small fresh shrimps or a small pack of hibi or dried shrimps (with no shrimps available, you can use a Knorr cube- shrimp or chicken flavor)

1-2 pcs. of garlic

1 medium-sized onion

How to:

  1. Peel the patola and cut into 2 cm. discs

  2. Crush the garlic; slice the onion

  3. Heat 1-2 tbsp. of oil in a pan

  4. Saute the garlic; add the onions, then the shrimps

  5. Add about ¾ cup-1 cup of water. Simmer to bring out flavor of shrimps

  6. Add salt and pepper to taste

  7. Put in the sliced patola . Mix, simmer quickly and serve.

Tip: Cook them al dente. While they’re bright green, turn off the heat. Overcooking will shrink and leave them mushy.

Variation: Add carrot slices for color and additional nutrients. (I blanch my carrots first so they don’t have to cook too long in the broth)

 

Leave a Reply

